U

Monday, January 8th, 2024 5:28 AM

Closed

PS5 issues with Wifi connection

Not sure if anyone is encountering this but yesterday is the first time i played the PS5 in a month or so, it was going good until 5 minutes goes by and my wifi loses IP and says on my PS5 "ps5 network settings lost", i go ahead and do a test conenction and it validates the IP and says im online, play for another 5 minutes and same thing happens (thus went on for the next 3-4 hours until i gave up for the night). Ive done multiple things on the PS5 thinking it was their issues as in refresh network settings, add/remove ssid, went to go restart the xfinity gateway/cable modem a couple of times, same thing is occuring. I took a deep dive into the issue today as i am a network engineer and logged into the my rented xfinity gateway/cable modem and first thing i did is look for the mac of the device and went to the adavnced settings to the logs, i found out this connection was changing ports every 5-10 minutes in logs yesterday and continuing to do it today, I would love for someone to reach out to me on this because now im convinced its on Xfinity side and not Playstation hardware/network.

2 Messages

8 months ago

Been having this horrible problem for a few weeks now. Its incredibly frustrating. It's something with there newer routers. My brother has there last model and has no issues but mine gives constant issues which is the newest model.

Official Employee

• 

4K Messages

Hey, @Confusedmilo! Thanks for reaching out to us! I apologize to hear that you are having an issue with your Playstation 5 staying connected to the internet. I know how frustrating it can be when you're in the middle of an online match and the signal gets lost. It sounds like a reset on the wireless module on the modem could take care of this issue. Since it has been a few days, are you still having the issue?

I am an Official Xfinity Employee.