Community Forum

Fox Sports 2

Highlighted
Valued Contributor

Re: WHERE IS FOX SPORTS 2

@Leojack wrote:
No wagers, but from a sponsor's point of view, don't you want to provide your customers with every opportunity to hear your name as title sponsor. Nationwide qualifying was on FS2 at Atlanta and denying us the opportunity to watch, especially with availability on the Fox mobile app, seems like a missed opportunity. I'm no expert, but to me that just makes sense, at least beginning next year, from the advertising angle. I would think that they would want to make sure that customers would have access to every event in the sponsored series. I am certainly not holding my breath.

Yes, it does make sense to me that this new sponsorship should spur Comcast to add the FS2 channel in all of their markets now. See:

Comcast’s NASCAR sponsorship could open doors for Fox Sports 2

By Joe Lucia, AwfulAnnouncing.com - September 4, 2014

http://awfulannouncing.com/2014/comcasts-nascar-sponsorship-could-open-door-for-fox-sports-2.html

NASCAR’s Nationwide Series has a new title sponsor for the 2015 season – Comcast. The series will be known as the Xfinity Series starting next year, and Comcast will be paying $200 million over ten years for the naming rights. This doesn’t seem like a huge deal until you consider where many series events will air – Fox Sports 2.

The vast majority of Fox’s NASCAR package airs on the Fox broadcast network and on Fox Sports 1, but every so often, coverage is pushed over to Fox Sports 2 when the schedule is too full. Considering the money Comcast is shelling out for these naming rights, it wouldn’t be a great look if they didn’t carry the network where some of that branded programming is airing.

Highlighted
Regular Contributor

Yes, it does make sense to me that this new sponsorship should spur Comcast to add the FS2 channel in all of their markets now. See:

Quote:

Comcast’s NASCAR sponsorship could open doors for Fox Sports 2