P

Visitor

• 

19 Messages

Sunday, April 9th, 2023 12:23 AM

Closed

Frequent mb8611 disconnects...

COMCAST, don't "close" this thread like you've closed all the others.  There are dozens of threads on this forum regarding this modem, and its firmware, and the frequent reboots.  NONE of them is resolved !  If they were actually resolved, you wouldn't consistently be getting more of these messages, literally every day.

Bottom-line, the combination of the Comcast Service + the MB8611 modem + the firmware doesn't work.  In some cases, reboots are only once every few days, in other cases, reboots happen 5-15 times every hour!  This is EGGREGIOUS !!

Either Motorola or Comcast (whoever owns the firmware) NEEDS TO FIX THIS !!!

I am a professional Software Engineering Manager, working from home.  I am in meetings all day long.  A few days ago, my modem decided to reboot during 5 different meetings in a single day!  This is unacceptable.  Comcast, fix this!

As far as I am concerned, if I was in charge of installing my own firmware, the issue would be solidly on Motorola.  However, because Comcast maintains the firmware, I believe it's up to Comcast to fix this.

When I first got onto Comcast network with this modem, everything was fine for several months (no reboots).  But then, about 6-8 weeks ago, Comcast updated my firmware, and BOOM ...constant reboots!

I even called Comcast, and they told me to get updated firmware from Motorola!  Um, Motorola doesn't give the firmware directly to customers.  And even if they did, Comcast would just wipe it out as they keep updating the firmware to whatever version they want.  I must admit, that was a really frustrating support call.

I have since gotten Comcast to downgrade my firmware to 19.2.18.  My modem still reboots, but WAY WAY WAY less than when it was on 20.3.x.  I don't know how I got them to do it, but I'm glad they finally downgraded it.