U

27 Messages

Saturday, February 3rd, 2024 1:41 AM

After 20 years of loyalty, I'm about to leave Xfinity

It is with great disappointment that I have to write this letter. I have been a Comcast subscriber since it was Rogers Cable system and now Xfinity. I have been paying for Comcast for 20+ years and today was the straw that broke the camels back. Last month I received an email saying Xfinity is raising my bill $27 next month. So this month I received my bill and it is $304. This has went up in the past year from $214 for the same number of cable boxes (one which I can no longer watch on Demand because they stopped supporting it) and for the same number of channels including Starz, HBO, and Showtime. (Of which now they charge to rent movies that we use to be able to watch with our premium subscription or now requires you have a subscription to one of the 20+ channels which are now considered premium to watch the same movies) There use to be 5 premium movie channels: HBO, Starz, Showtime, Cinemax, and The Movie Channel. Within those channels you could watch any movie On Demand. Also in On Demand, you had a format where movies were broken down by New/Featured (Pay per view) movies, Premium movies with no ads, and New movies, then by network. Today there are Featured which is New movies they charge to rent or buy as well as old movies to rent or buy (Why am I having to rent an old movie? It use to be included in the Premium channels) New and Most Popular (which is a mix of everything on Netflix, premium channels and charges for old movies as well as new) Premium & Streaming from my services (It's like the previous section without the new movies. Now instead of being from just premium channels, it includes Pluto, Paramount, TBS, Screen Pix,Tubi, AMC etc which half have commercials or you have to rent it). We do not pay for Premium Channels to then go to on Demand to find out we have to watch it on Pluto or Tubi with commercials or to have to rent movies. In the las