way2much4me's profile

Regular Visitor

• 

2 Messages

Saturday, August 1st, 2020 11:00 AM

Closed

Xfinity Will No Longer Play Though HDMI Splitter

I have an Xfinity RGN200N cable box. For years I have used it through an HDMI splitter to my older Samsung tv. I also have DISH (for international TV) and a D Link streaming box for Netflix. Now, only DISH and the D Link box will play through the splitter. The Xfinity cable has no signal through the HDMI splitter. The only way I can watch Xfinity is to unplug the splitter and hook the Xfinity straight into the HDMI on the TV. Any suggestions on how to fix the problem?

Accepted Solution

Gold Problem Solver

• 

25.9K Messages

4 years ago

Check if your hdmi splitter supports HDCP

Official Employee

• 

839 Messages

4 years ago

I'd probably suggest swapping it out with a newer box as that one isn't an X1. The best way to do so is to pop by a retail store. Not sure if it has anything to do with HDCP as I'm not an expert, but I highly doubt it unless you changed TVs recently as well.

Contributor

• 

14 Messages

4 years ago

It seems like Comcast has done something to the Xfinity boxes such that splitters no longer work. After an old box failed they sent me a new one. The splitter worked on the old one but not on the new one. 

Contributor

• 

14 Messages

4 years ago

I will check and post the answer. It might take a while since I just returned the splitter that didn't work, I'll get a new one and check.

New Poster

• 

2 Messages

4 years ago

Any update in your issue?

New Poster

• 

2 Messages

4 years ago

Hello, any updates?

Contributor

• 

14 Messages

4 years ago

I have a new splitter which I haven't tried yet.

Will post here if it solves the problem.

Contributor

• 

14 Messages

4 years ago

Problem solved.

I bought a new splitter from Bombay electronics.  I don't know what the model number is but it's called