Again's profile

Expert

• 

30.4K Messages

Thursday, November 12th, 2020 5:00 PM

Closed

Enable/Disable Third-Party Client Access to Comcast.net Email

Effective September 16, 2020, Comcast.net email users will see an added security checkbox in their Xfinity Connect email settings allowing them to enable/disable access to third-party email clients. Allowing access by third-party email clients (e.g., Outlook, Google, Apple Mail, Thunderbird, etc.), could expose the customer’s Xfinity ID and password to fraud and other risks, including the potential for external programs to read, download and delete emails on the customer’s behalf.

You can find the rest of the article here.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Please mark an Accepted Answer!tick

Contributor

• 

51 Messages

4 years ago

Thank you for pointing this out.  Checking the appropriate box is definitely necessary for third-party email clients to interact with Comcast's mail servers.

However, unfortunately, checking the appropriate box does not resolve connectivity issues that a number of us (who have previously checked that box) have been experiencing.  There are a number of recent threads in this forum which describe such issues.  They span various Operating Systems and various email clients.

E.g.:

<https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Email-Web-Browsing/Cannot-send-email/td-p/3383480>;

<https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Email-Web-Browsing/Widespread-Outages-in-Sending-Receiving-Comcast-Email-from/td-p/3385494>;

<https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Email-Web-Browsing/Outbound-email-no-longer-working/td-p/3382330>; and

<https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Email-Web-Browsing/outgoing-email-sloooow/td-p/3375572>