U

Visitor

• 

5 Messages

Sunday, August 14th, 2022 10:45 PM

Closed

Worse internet speeds after upgrading from 100Mbps to 300Mbps speed plan

Hi,

I've upgraded from the 100Mbps to the 300Mbps internet plan on 8/7/22 and I've only received worse speeds as a result. It varies so much throughout the day but more often than not, its worse than before. Previously, it was at least consistently decent speeds but now its anywhere from 2Mbps - 90Mbps, and has never broke 100Mbps. This was tested on my desktop PC that I've been using just fine with the internet for the past 8 years. I've attempted restarts of the modem/router but its actually to the point where it even has issues connecting to the internet sometimes. Is there any way to investigate the reason for this? Why am I paying more for worse?

Modem: ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 (supports up to 1Gbps)

Fast Plan

Download speeds: up to 300 Mbps

Upload speeds: up to 10 Mbps

Accepted Solution

Gold Problem Solver

• 

25.9K Messages

2 years ago

... upgraded from the 100Mbps to the 300Mbps internet plan ... ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 ...

Note that the 6141 is no longer an approved device. When it was approved, it was for use with plan speeds "Up to 284 Mbps" (see https://www.xfinity.com/support/devices).

Using devices on speed tiers for which they are not approved, and using devices that are no longer approved, tends to produce unexpected results, often speeds well below the manufacturer's rating. You need to pick one of the modems on the "Devices" page that is approved for the 300 Mbps speed tier or drop back to a lower tier.

Please be aware that there are 2 kinds of responses in this Forum: Replies and Comments. When you Comment on a post by scrolling down to "Comment on this post here...", I am notified of your response. But if you select Reply, I am NOT notified and may not be aware of your response.

(edited)

Visitor

• 

5 Messages

2 years ago

Thanks for the response. I'll attempt to get a modern router.