realyc's profile

Contributor

• 

24 Messages

Friday, February 19th, 2021 7:00 PM

Closed

Mysterious & Frustrating Intermittent Packet Loss & Disconnects

I've spent countless hours troubleshooting our Xfinity Internet, including multiple customer calls and a technician visit. We have the 1000Mbps service with unlimited data.

Here are the symptoms:

• When it's good, it's perfect. When it's not good, randomly for several hours at a time:
    • League of Legends is unplayable: lags every few seconds, disconnects every minute or so, or even the Internet would just drop altogether.
    • PingPlotter graphs look like this (this is a UDP ping, not ICMP): (top = to first hop outside the house; bottom = to google.com): https://imgur.com/a/zXE3EOx

I am a software engineer, so it was natural for me to try various setups and process of elimination to see where the problem is. Before I present my findings, a couple of things to note:

• All tests are done via Ethernet using a powerful PC built in 2020.
  • Most test scenarios were repeated with a router behind and without a router behind the modem. The router used is Google WiFi (of course, the WiFi part is not used for testing).

Here is a summary of trying different scenarios:

Modem UsedModem UsedModem UsedModem Used
  XB7SB8200SB8200 (inactive)SB6121
Cable configuration
4-way 5-1002MHz splitter, modem downstairsOccasional packet loss (always)Extreme packet loss (December)Not testedNo issues
Cable configuration
4 way 5-1002MHz splitter, modem upstairsOccasional packet loss (always)Not testedNot testedNo issues
Cable configuration
4 way 5-2500MHz splitter + MoCA filter, modem upstairs behind MoCASevere packet loss and disconnects (February)Not testedSevere packet loss (February)No issues
Cable configuration
No splitters, modem upstairsSevere packet loss and disconnects (February)Not testedSevere packet loss (February)No issues

On the cable configuration: