Divitom's profile

New Poster

• 

1 Message

Monday, January 27th, 2020 9:00 AM

Closed

Re: Not all HD channels giving me 5.1 surround sound

I'm having the same issue on "Network Programming", CBS, NBC are the primary examples and only on "live" programming - The Voice, America's Got Talent, The Grammy's have muted center channel. Commercials, normal network TV - Ellen, NBC Nightly News, Magnum, etc are fine. I don't have this issue with HBO or Showtime on cable or Netflix, Prime streaming with the set top box. If I use over the air the sound is fine. When watching anything on other devices the sound is fine. Blu-Ray 4k, Fire Cube Streaming, etc. produce Dolby Atmos with no issues. Most of the regular programming is fine in Dolby Digital. Seems to be an issue with the Dolby Digital Plus encoded content and the post-processing equipment Comcast is using isn't compatible or configured correctly. As a digital video engineer I know it is not the equipment I use - Denon AVR X6500H, 7.2.4 Atmos, Klipsch, LG C-8 OLED

Frequent Visitor

• 

7 Messages

4 years ago

@Divitom Finally someone with the same issue as me. I wish I could be of some help but I'm stumped too.  Did you resolve this yet? I've noticed this issue even within the same show. When watching SNL, the monologues and the skits sound just fine with the center channel loud and clear in 5.1  But when the musical act comes on and they start singing, that's when the center channel goes dead. The receiver still displays 5.1 though. I'm not surprised to see you mention shows like The Voice, Grammy's, AGT as those all involve some sort of singing or musical performance.

This is a recent issue though.  I've had the same setup for 3-4 years now and this only started a few months ago.