R

Saturday, December 16th, 2023 10:56 PM

Closed

xfinity won't authorize streaming of espn/tcm through roku

I have an xfinity subscription with sports and entertainment package. In the past two weeks, Xfinity refuses to authorize streaming on ESPN and TCM through my Roku. I get the 'please authorize this channel' message, go to the website and enter the code...but then when it asks me to pick my television provider, and I sign in with my Xfinity user name and password, I get an error message (at login.xfinity.com) that says This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service. Yet both ESPN and TCM ARE in my current service, and I can watch them through the set-top box; I just want to be able to stream things on my schedule. I have been able to stream espn and tcm through the roku for years; it's only in the past two weeks that Xfinity refuses to authorize the streaming. What has changed? Please fix this. I spent an hour on the phone with a nice customer service agent who clearly didn't understand the problem.

1 Message

9 months ago

I have the same problem only the error message "Authorization for this content failed" Problem only started 24-48 hours ago. I am able to login to Xfinity website and then stream TCM from TCM.com website but Roku does not work. And yes, I tried deleting, rebooting and reinstalling - but still cannot stream on Roku.

Official Employee

• 

1.7K Messages

Hello, @user_zioi7n. Thanks for posting on our Community forums. Is this happening with our Xfinity Stream App on the Roku device? Or is it the network app (ESPN or TCM App)? Have you tried accessing the content through a different device to see if you get the same error?  

I am an Official Xfinity Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Xfinity: CARE, Product, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Please, mark a reply as the Accepted Answer.tick