person00001's profile

New Poster

• 

3 Messages

Friday, February 21st, 2020 7:00 AM

Closed

Comcast DNS servers are dropping constantly (75.75.75.75 and 75.75.76.76) ... Revisited 2020

This post references a previous question post from 2013 of the same subject title minus the "... Revisited 2020".  I tried to post new to that thread but apparently that is not possible, or not easy through Xfinity's interface (I'm a little new to RSS feeds).  There may be a proper way to reference previous feeds/postings in a new posting but apologies I do not know that procedure.

It would appear that this issue is happening again, for my locality at least.  This involves the same DNS server IP addresses as in the previous post and in the subject of this post, normally set automatically from configuration info sent from Xfinity servers.  This time it is early 2020.  This started happening recently, in the last few months, may have started end of 2019 but I don't recall for sure.  It happened again this morning.  I will have a fully-functioning internet connection for hours when suddenly the browser is unable to resolve any hostnames.  Then I reboot my MG-7550 cable modem/router/access point over and over every minute or so, each time apparently connecting successfully over the Ethernet via DHCP info but not seeing the DNS server IP addresses get populated from the Xfinity server information.  After about 5-10 minutes, I get the DNS server info and can resolve hostnames again.  This happens every week or two any more.