Community Forum

Record unwatched only

Highlighted
New Poster

Record unwatched only

I’m submitting a request to add “Unwatched Only” to the series recording options. If you’re trying to catch up on an entire series, “New & Repeats” will keep recording the same episodes over and over.
Highlighted
Contributor

Re: Record unwatched only

This is already a thing, its called ‘new episodes only’. When selecting it it will only record episodes that arent already recorded.
Highlighted
Expert

@BHelms07 wrote:
This is already a thing, its called ‘new episodes only’. When selecting it it will only record episodes that arent already recorded.

unwatched is 'per account' for that season/episode no matter if it is new or repeat. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
New Poster

"New Episodes Only" doesn't work in the scenario I'm describing. Say a show has 5 seasons, and a channel frequently shows reruns of those 5 seasons. If I want to catch up on that show, I have to use "New and Repeats" or they won't be recorded. But since the channel keeps re-running the same episodes, the DVR keeps recording every episode whether I've watched them or not. "Unwatched Only" would fix that.

Highlighted
New Poster

100% agree. I spend a ton of time cancelling scheduled recordings. This would solve that.
Highlighted
Expert

@Tnjeff615 wrote:
100% agree. I spend a ton of time cancelling scheduled recordings. This would solve that.

did you set your series recording from the grid or a search? first offers a particular channel only, the 2nd may be searching all channels.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.