Community Forum

MSNBC not working

Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

MSNBC not working

(Again) MSNBC on hi-def channel (765 in my area) isn’t working. Channel selector simply hangs with 3 dot GIF repeating endlessly. What’s up?
Highlighted
Expert

Re: MSNBC not working

@lawdymama wrote:
(Again) MSNBC on hi-def channel (765 in my area) isn’t working. Channel selector simply hangs with 3 dot GIF repeating endlessly. What’s up?

more than one set top box? if so, happening on all of them at the same time? does same channel work fine on a smart phone/tablet using the Xfinity Stream app?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Happens on both boxes. Can watch on low-def. when happened previously, can watch recorded hi-def. if I was to hypothesize, sounds like boxes are struggling with automatic determination of hi-def signal.
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Forgot to address other question. Streaming seems to work. Odd that this problem seems to occur on msnbc but not other channels. And problem may last 30 minutes or several hours.
Highlighted
Expert

@lawdymama wrote:
Forgot to address other question. Streaming seems to work. Odd that this problem seems to occur on msnbc but not other channels. And problem may last 30 minutes or several hours.

different numbered channels come in on different/separate frequencies and what you describe is problems with wiring/connections that affect certain frequencies. This problem may be inside or outside your home, a tech can test from outside the home. 

I have escalated your issue to the Comcast Team available to these forums. Check back often for a reply in this thread from a Comcast Official Employee.

I am not a Comcast Employee.