R

Visitor

• 

3 Messages

Tuesday, April 5th, 2022 7:39 PM

Closed

Received an XB7 as a replacement for a "failed" XB6

I just received an XB7 as a replacement for a "failed" XB6 that was consistently getting 12Mbps upload speeds until it suddenly and without warning stopped working one evening. Now no better than 4-5 and more often less thean 2Gbps. I am a WFH Enterprise IT engineer and this is very much unacceptable. (Converted comment to post for better community exposure: Please see Forums guidelines https://forums.xfinity.com/conversations/guidelines/xfinity-forum-guidelines/602da8fdc5375f08cd20b38c )

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

This post was created from this comment on different post

Problem Solver

• 

874 Messages

2 years ago

Thank you for reaching out over Xfinity Forums @rjt21. Welcome to the community! I am sorry to hear about your trouble with the modems. I can't imagine the headache this has caused. Based on your post, it looks like we replaced your XB6 with an XB7 but you are still running into problems. Can you tell me what troubleshooting we have tried already? Are you noticing a problem on all your devices in the home, or one specific?

Visitor

• 

3 Messages

@XfinityAnna​ The XB6 worked fine until it suddenly failed. The XB7 appears to be less capable. I moved the modem to the house DMARC and was able to get 12Mbps. It doesn't matter if I enable bridging or leave it default. I moved it back to my office and replaced the cable from the wall to the modem with a slightly shorter cable and it improved from less than 2Mbps to 8Mbps but still falls short most times. Again, I tested both in default mode and bride mode. The speed is the same for all devices on the home network, wireless and wired and also connected directly to a single computer in either default or bridge mode.