kmpBoston's profile

New Poster

• 

5 Messages

Tuesday, September 3rd, 2024 5:36 PM

One last try with MB8611, then what?

Hi all,

I've been following the discussions here among others who purchased the Motorola MB8611, I too am having problems that multiply whenever the modem installs the 21.3.7 firmware.

I'm an IT infrastructure architect, not primarily specialized in networking but it's part of what I do.  Many of my recent projects have involved monitoring - so I probably have better data on the unit than most - but that hasn't led me to any solutions.  I have metrics on s/n ratio, upstream/downstream power, availability/uptime, channel allocation - anything I've been able to get out of the (undocumented API) (which only works with the 19.2.18 firmware, by the way). Here's an example:

I'm not talking about WiFi, nor is my router an issue, as that was replaced six months ago with a unit with 1.8Gb/s throughput and a 2.5Gb/s Ethernet ports.

The thing has been getting less and less stable; I'm not interested in trying to collect more data but it's interfering with my wife's work and mine and I'm willing to share what I have with anyone with any ideas for one more attempt to get this to work before tossing it out.  I'd like to offer anyone from Comcast the opportunity to show that they actually are customer-focused, because I'm just not a happy customer (nor, as far as I can see are many posting here).

If there's no way to make this work, I have questions about what to replace it with.  First of all, the MB8611 was previously recommended, but apparently has fallen out of this category - and I'm aware that the manufacturer has had issues.