B

Thursday, July 25th, 2024 2:23 PM

Cannot work from home, Xfinity Broadband unreliable [Please view description as there is a lot of information]

I do IT for a living and require my services to constantly be active, for the past month Xfinity has been absolute garbage. If you guys did not gridlock everything in the tristate area I would probably get fiber and drop this mess. On to the issue though, when using the xfinity network, I have attempted to ping Google's DNS [8.8.8.8] with a "request timed out" over and over:

C:\Users\godli>ping -n 10 8.8.8.8

Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 0, Lost = 10 (100% loss)

I have even turned off all of my antivirus, turned off all firewalls and attempted to ping also with no success, I just swapped out the modem as recommended by Xfinity [which I already knew was NOT the issue but for some reason support makes you jump through hoops and waste unnecessary time to get to the actual issue]. I had a tech come to my house on 7/24/2024, did an amazing job switching out the coaxial that runs from the modem to the outside box on the side of my house, removed all splitters from previous setups [I do not have cable]. He noticed that the person that lives above me had water in their line to the box outside. I tried to speak with support letting them know the process of elimination would be the best thing here [I am able to connect to the modem all the way in the basement but cannot connect to my own network/modem 5 feet from me and hardwired????] I can connect to websites and everything works just fine, only when taking calls or doing something that requires a constant flow of packets is when my network is shot. My kid gaming? FORGET ABOUT IT, SHOT!