Anon296804's profile

Contributor

• 

65 Messages

Tuesday, July 27th, 2021 2:09 PM

Closed

Can a modem problem cause issues with cable television?

I spoke with Xfinity tech support this morning because our internet download speed is varying significantly and upload speed has dropped to a tenth of what it should be. Also, our cable television was being slow to respond. After performing some tests, the tech support person suggested that I needed a new Xfinity modem. Our current modem is less than 6 months old, but okay, I'll pick up a new Xfinity modem today. But here's the thing I don't understand:

The tech person told me that a malfunctioning modem can affect the performance of cable television because they share the same coaxial cable.

Is this true? I'm no electrical engineer, but it seems to me that the shared coaxial cable is upstream of both the cable box and modem, i.e., our Xfinity cable box is not routed out of our Xfinity modem, rather the modem and cable box are parallel on the same line. If there's a problem affecting both our modem and cable box, then it's likely the problem upstream of both, the problem being either with the coaxial cable connections outside our house or transmission problems from Xfinity itself, right?

Thanks.

Gold Problem Solver

• 

25.7K Messages

3 years ago

... The tech person told me that a malfunctioning modem can affect the performance of cable television because they share the same coaxial cable. ...

It's possible, but as you suggest, it's more likely that there is a common problem affecting both Internet and TV service. Network connection problems are often due to poor coax connections or damaged coax cable, usually in or near your home.

If you want to troubleshoot this yourself, please see Internet Troubleshooting Tips. If you still need help, please post your Internet plan speed and the following information from your modem or gateway:

• model number
  • downstream power levels and SNR
  • upstream power levels