Expressive Exchange
Conversation Starter
1st Reply

Frequent Visitor

• 

15 Messages

Wed, Dec 16, 2020 1:00 PM

X1 plan and DVR

I’ve been on the “X1 Starter Double Play (140+)” plan for a while using 2 old non-X1 HD boxes that were probably 10 years old. Recently one died and I was told that if I wanted the latest tech, X1, I needed to replace the other box, too, because “X1 doesn’t play well with non-X1 boxes.” So, they gave me 2 new identical Pace XG2V2-P boxes which I finally got to work.

Where I’m confused is that what I read on the X1 support web-pages always talks about the “master” box and DVR. Neither box said “master” and neither has a DVR. So, what’s the deal? Since I have an X1 plan should I have a DVR “master” box included?

Responses

RadTV

Problem Solver

• 

498 Messages

5 m ago

@my-screen-name wrote:

I’ve been on the “X1 Starter Double Play (140+)” plan for a while using 2 old non-X1 HD boxes that were probably 10 years old. Recently one died and I was told that if I wanted the latest tech, X1, I needed to replace the other box, too, because “X1 doesn’t play well with non-X1 boxes.” So, they gave me 2 new identical Pace XG2V2-P boxes which I finally got to work.

Where I’m confused is that what I read on the X1 support web-pages always talks about the “master” box and DVR. Neither box said “master” and neither has a DVR. So, what’s the deal? Since I have an X1 plan should I have a DVR “master” box included?

The basic setup is 1 X1 DVR and 1 X1 non-DVR. You need an X1 DVR if you wish to use the record feature. It's not recommended to use non X1 equipment with actual X1 equipment because the 2 systems do not communicate with each other. X1 is an Internet based system with access to TV channels and the X1 communicates with each connected device.

CCAndrew

Diamond Problem Solver

• 

25.9K Messages

5 m ago

@my-screen-name
If you aren’t paying for dvr service then there’s no need for a dvr

Frequent Visitor

• 

15 Messages

5 m ago