Community Forum

Wireless Connectivity Sporadic and Just Drops

Highlighted
New Poster

Wireless Connectivity Sporadic and Just Drops

I have an Xfinity Xfi modem/router (XB6-T) that will get speeds in excess of 100 KbPS and then all of a sudden sporadically drop.  I have the Extreme plan (supposed to be speeds up to 300 KBPS) so the bandwidth shouldnt be a bottleneck.  Additionally, I have bought 6 pods and have placed them throughout my house in hopes of strengthening the connection but the intermittent drops continue to occur.

Any help/suggestions?

Highlighted
Expert

Re: Wireless Connectivity Sporadic and Just Drops

Do you mean 100 and 300 Mbps ? 

Is this with a WiFi connection ? If so, for a test, does a computer hardwired directly to the XB6 with an ethernet cable have the same problem ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
New Poster

Yes,

It is for a wifi connection.  And I have not had any issues with hard wired connections.

Highlighted
New Poster

And it is MBPS.  My mistake...  Just random drops with the wifi.

Highlighted
Expert

Some tips for improving WiFi performance;

http://corporate.comcast.com/comcast-voices/10-ways-you-might-be-killing-your-home-wi-fi-signal

http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Your-Home-Network/Improve-Your-Wireless-Gateway-Home-Network/td-p/26276...

https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/improve-your-wireless-home-network

There are other options. Google for WiFi repeaters / range extenders, WiFi mesh systems / pods. Good luck !

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Highlighted
New Poster