Community Forum

Extreme internet keeps dropping intermittently

Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Extreme internet keeps dropping intermittently

I have replace my Extreme modem once and the problem still exists.  I work from home and cannot have the internet dropping randomly for any reason - lost $$$.  Everytime I test it comes up as blazing fast but then we get intermittent 10-30 seconds drops of the signal which either hangs up the Netflix or freezes my video conferences, etc.  I still believe that Comcast has the fastest service available but the reliability is SO bad I don't know what else to do.  Please help!

Highlighted
Expert

Re: Extreme internet keeps dropping intermittently

Is this with a WiFi connection ? If so, for a test, does a computer hardwired directly to the router / gateway device with an ethernet cable have the same problem ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

It is a wireless configuration 99% of the time.  However, I did connect directly via a wired connection and it also dropped.  Very frustrating.  I tried to expand the network and spread out the traffic via a Google mesh network and that did not help either so I removed it and reverted to just the Extreme modem.  

Highlighted
Expert

O/k What do the modem's signal stats look like ? Try getting them here http://192.168.100.1 or here http://10.0.0.1

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

What is the exact make and model number of the modem ?

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Highlighted