dailen's profile

Frequent Visitor

• 

9 Messages

Thursday, January 17th, 2019 6:00 AM

Closed

Consistent Comcast DNS Issues

To start off with I'm an career IT Systems Engineer, so bare in mind that asking things like "make sure it's plugged in" and "try restarting your computer" are not necessary......

I switched from Comcast Business for home office internet to Comcast Residential about 8 months ago when I moved and had the opportunity to get Xfinity Gigabit. I went the whole nine yards, I got the XFi XB6 gateway, I got the Xfi Pods. When I first setup everything, I was super happy and never looked back.

Fast forward to about November and all the sudden I've noticed consistent drops in my internet connection. The gateway is accessible and even the diagnostics on the gateway reflect that "everything is working fine" but it's not and I cannot figure out a resolution. When the network suddenly stops responding I am not able to resolve any dns lookups. So pinging google.com returns host not found but pinging 8.8.8.8 responds instantly. If I use the gateway diagnostics to ping www.comcast.net though it will work about 70% of the time, usually though the issue resolves itself about the time I get to the gateway to investigate.

This happens at all times of the day, I've seen it in the mornings, afternoons, evenings and middle of the night. Usually it resolves itself in a matter of minutes but soemtimes I have to reset the wifi and router modules using diagnostics, once in a while I have to restart the gateway using diagnostics, once in a blue moon I have to power cycle the gateway.