Community Forum

Thunderbird Connects but times out

TS2430
Frequent Visitor

Thunderbird Connects but times out

Thunderbird connects to comcast but times out before receiving any emails. It worked fine this morning. It downloads email from gmail account with no issues but not from my comcast account. I get "Connection to server mail.comcast.net has timed out." 

Again
Expert

Re: Thunderbird Connects but times out

@TS2430 wrote:

Thunderbird connects to comcast but times out before receiving any emails. It worked fine this morning. It downloads email from gmail account with no issues but not from my comcast account. I get "Connection to server mail.comcast.net has timed out." 

Check your settings with those in this article.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
sbrozell
Frequent Visitor

Hi,

It fails because comcast's imap servers are not responsive:

https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Email-Web-Browsing/imap-comcast-net-is-not-responsive/td-p/3408495

I've called and tried to get them to understand that i am not a clueless user, but so far i have not been able to get someone that understands all they have to do is execute this command to see that the problem is on their side:

ping imap.comcast.net

Please call (i know it is a pain in the neck to jump throw their hoops), but the more customers that call, the more likely we'll finally get someone that understands.

thanks,

scott

whichfinger
Frequent Visitor