Fultonm's profile

Frequent Visitor

• 

13 Messages

Saturday, March 7th, 2020 9:00 AM

Closed

Ring home security

This is a question and a solution of sorts.

I canceled by cable TV / Home Security and upgraded my internet to a gig.

Then I purchased the Ring home secuirty.  $100 for a year of monitoring is a good price.

The one issue I had is I can connect all the wireless devices to the Xfinity WIFI but they can't connect to what every server they are trying to connect to.

I went round and round with both Ring and Xfinity.  Ring said it was a firewall issue.  Which would make sense.  But I am a IT Professional and I know that the firewall on the Xfinity device was set to allow everything in.  Wide open.  So that wasnt' the issue.

I still had my Netgear R8500 Router so I connected it to the Xfinity modem directly and then connected the Ring system to it via WIFI.

So now I have the Ring connected to the SSID of the Netgear and the outside interface of the Netgear connected to the Xfinity modem.  

And it works.  Makes absolutly no sence.  Why would the Ring not work on the Xfinity Wifi but work just fine when it is masked behind my Netgear on its Wifi?

Unless Xfinity is activly blocking Ring when it is on its Wifi.  Maybe it sees it now as a Netgear device and not a Ring device?

Just a thought.

Expert

• 

106.3K Messages

5 years ago

Try disabling the Xfi advanced security feature and see;

https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/using-xfinity-xfi-advanced-security

Also bear in mind that If you are hang a stand-alone / separate router off of the gateway device, and the gateway is not in *bridge mode*, you are cascading 2 routing devices which results in an undesirable "double NAT" condition on your home network.

Google "double NAT" for info about it's potential pitfalls.

New Poster

• 

4 Messages

5 years ago