Zoder's profile

Contributor

• 

48 Messages

Tuesday, April 16th, 2024 2:48 AM

Closed

Polycom VOIP phone not working

My office uses Nextiva VOIP service and each employee has a Polycom VVX450 phone.  I've been using this phone working from home for the past 3 1/2 years without issue.

Sometime between Saturday afternoon and this morning the phone would no longer connect to the internet.  It still receives an IP address from the Xfinity gateway.

After spending the day on the phone with Nextiva support and Xfinity support troubleshooting, I've ruled out the phone and my local network being the issue.

1.  I brought the phone to the office and plugged it in and it works.  I brought another phone home this afternoon along with my original phone and they don't work.  Office uses Comcast Business internet.  I also have coworkers who have Xfinity at home and haven't reported any issues.

2.  I swapped out the gateway this afternoon from XB7 to an XB8 and it had no effect.  Tried turning on port forwarding and dmz to the phone IP but neither helped.

Is there any way to find out if Comcast closed one of more of the ports this weekend that the phone needs to work properly?  Nextiva mentioned that 5060 and 5061 need to be open.

Xfinity phone support doesn't know how to check this or how to get it back open even if they were closed.

Official Employee

• 

1.6K Messages

6 months ago

Good evening @Zoder, and thank you for reaching out on our Community Forums. To make sure we provide proper direction may I confirm if you are an XFINITY residential customer or Comcast Business customer?

Contributor

• 

48 Messages

@XfinityAlyssaA​ Residential

Official Employee

• 

968 Messages

Thanks for confirming, Zoder! We actually post the blocked/closed ports for our service publicly here : https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/list-of-blocked-ports