Kwoodaa's profile

Frequent Visitor

• 

14 Messages

Saturday, April 4th, 2020 12:00 PM

Closed

How to get ALL hardwired internet connections in house to work

I’m in a new house. Why can’t I connect my router/modem to ANY of the hardwired connections. Only the kitchen works! I’m a teacher ... help!

Frequent Visitor

• 

14 Messages

5 years ago

Yes coax connections thank you. Is xfinity the only one who can fix it? Their chat isn’t open now.

Gold Problem Solver

• 

2.2K Messages

5 years ago

@Kwoodaa wrote:
I’m in a new house. Why can’t I connect my router/modem to ANY of the hardwired connections. Only the kitchen works! I’m a teacher ... help!

Are you referring to coaxial outlets?  If so, They all might go to the Comcast entrypoint to your house, but only the kitchen cable is connected to the splitter.

Gold Problem Solver

• 

2.2K Messages

5 years ago

@Kwoodaa wrote:
Ok so I paid over $1000 to have a “thing” installed to centralize all the wiring. I have a picture of it and it’s a bunch of coax cables that go into a small box. All installed in wall. Do you know the name of that “thing”? I’m assuming if I can figure out where all the coax cables connect to, maybe I can put my router in there and all of the hardwired wall connections would work? I appreciate your help! I’m the computer lab teacher at my school and am helping everyone but not a hardware expert.

You might post the picture of it for us to see.  Is your 'router' you're referring to, the Xfinity Gateway which receives the coaxial cable and what make/model is it?

Do you know if your active coaxial outlet is connected to that small box or did Xfinity bypass that box to make your connection?

Frequent Visitor

• 

14 Messages

5 years ago

I don’t see how to post pictures here. I’m on my phone and going thru a browser. The interface is simplistic. Is there an app?

Gold Problem Solver

• 

2.2K Messages

5 years ago