code_sizzles's profile

Regular Visitor

• 

3 Messages

Tuesday, October 6th, 2020 12:00 PM

Closed

Comcast DNS Issues XB6 XFI gateway

To start with, I'm a Resident Engineer that works directly with Internet service providers network security teams. Please bare in mind asking things like restart the modem and make sure you are wired vs wireless are entirely unnecessary (looking at you Comcast support).... as I have made a career in troubleshooting network connectivity and security issues and have went through the process multiple times.

As I have been in the Network security industry for years, I was using my own 3rd party modem with Comcast and had little to no issues at all for years. Fast forward to the present when the local headend started enforcing removal of modems supporting older DOCSIS standards. Ok thats fine with me, I am all about modernizing infrastructure especially under the premise that speeds will increase, so sure lets give the older modems the boot. What options did I have? At this point due to time and workload I didn't have time to reconfigure my home network with another Comcast approved 3rd party modem so I opted for the simple answer and wanted to see what all the "Buzz" was about with the XB6 xFi Advanced Gateway and at least I would get my home network back up and going with minimal effort. Moving forward, we received the device, installed with minimal effort and was back up and running, but then we had odd issues. 

Issues:

- IOT devices such as smart home thermostat would no longer stay connected to the cloud services

- Chromebook would not work at all

- Nvidia Shield intermittent internet access issues

- Intermittent access to websites to any and all websites (frequency 3-5 times a day for 5-10 minutes or even longer time periods) with the browser error: “ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED”