U

Visitor

• 

3 Messages

Saturday, March 18th, 2023 10:22 PM

Closed

Android phone connectivity slowness with media when connected to Xfi Pod on black gateway modem.

I am new to Xfinity and have the Black Gateway TG1682G model and have added the white Xfi Pod.  When my Google Pixel 5e connects directly to the Gateway everything works perfectly fine. But when it connects to the Xfi pod some apps (Xfinity App, Instagram, Twitter, etc .. any app with media) will be extremely slow or not work at all.  I also have an iPhone and it is fine on either.  I can also tell from the iPhone that the Android phone is connected to the Xfi Pod when the issue occurs.  I can turn off wifi and reconnect making sure I'm on the Gateway (and not on the Pod) and things are fine but as soon as I get in range of the Xfi Pod i start having issues again.  Android phone is the only thing having issues.

I've searched on here and see multiple posts and the only solution I've actually seen is to get one of the newer white gateway modems.  But .. support will not replace my black gateway with a white one because I do not have a higher speed tier of service (200Mb is my current plan).  Forums show this has been happening for a while now and has been acknowledged.  

As with others, what i experience is the Xfinity app will just show a white screen.  Eventually it will show the widgets but that takes several minutes.  Twitter will not display images in tweets.  Facebook will not display images.  

I have:

Uninstall/reinstall the Xfinity App (I am using that one as the static test app since it's Xfinity's)

Rebooted the phone

Rebooted the gateway

Rebooted the Xfi Pod

I can be right next to the Xfi pod and still have the issue so distance isn't an issue.

This is new service and my speeds are at or above expected.

No other device has issue with being connected to the Xfi pod, just my Android phone.