U

Saturday, July 6th, 2024 7:39 PM

Discount offered by agent was not applied to my account

I recently spoke with a representative over chat to lower my bill to match a competitor's deal at $55. I waited a billing period and the next bill showed as $120. I called on July 6th and spoke to a representative who told me that that chat never occurred and there was no promotion to match the offer.

Why was the agent able to promise a rate that was not offered?

Chat reference: 

Reference Number:763754218216329677
DATE/TIME:2024-06-12 19:18:11

Transcript:

Xfinity: 👋 Hi! I’m a live agent. Can I answer any questions?
You: Starry is offering 55$ a month for the same with the model included, do you offer a service match?
You: same service with modem included*
Xfinity: Thank you for your interest in Xfinity! I hope you're doing well.

Hi this is Sandra, I’ll be more than happy to assist you.

Xfinity: Ok so currently your seeing at offer for $55 with equipment
Xfinity: Can you kindly provide me you full service address to see if the offer is available for you.
You: REDACTED
Xfinity: Thank you for the information, just allow me a moment to take a look into this for you.
Xfinity: Does the address have a apartment number ?
You: REDACTED
Xfinity: Thank you.
Xfinity: Ok so i do see here that currently your you have our 500mbps.
Xfinity: Your able to upgraded to our 1000mbps and get some savings.
Xfinity: Can you kindly login to your account
You: I think I am logged in
You: Ah I'm silly. Yes. I'm logged in
Xfinity: Great so on the page that you currently are do you see a option for Customize plan ?
You: yup
Xfinity: Kindly click on it.
You: ok
You: do i go under deals or change the speed?
Xfinity: Kindly click on Change speed.
You: then customize and explore?
Xfinity: Yes
Xfinity: Then kindly click on Internet.
You: ok, I dont see 1000mbps being cheaper than what I currently have
Xfinity: Currently you have our 500mbps and your paying $120.