U

Monday, February 26th, 2024 6:22 PM

Why do I have to upgrade my equipment?!

I have an xFinity modem, paid for, and 1000 mbps service with 1.2T of data.  Somehow, 1.2T isn't enough, so I called to ask for an unlimited data plan.  

Customer service told me three different times that I have three bad options:

1) Continue using my service and pay the data overuse fees.  $10/GB up to $100.

2) Upgrade my service to a new xFinity modem and pay $25 a month for unlimited data -- $15 for a modem lease and $10 for unlimited data.

3) Continue using the perfectly functioning equipment I have and pay $30/mo for unlimited data.

I don't mind paying for more data.  I do mind upgrading my existing, working xFinity equipment.  I am a computer programmer and can give the expert opinion that my equipment is fine. 

Why can't I just pay an extra $10 for unlimited data?  Or pay $25 and pretend like I'm leasing a new modem?  It's not the $5, it's the principle of the thing.  I shouldn't have to pay a fee to buy new equipment to do something that works perfectly well with the old equipment.  

I'm sorry xFinity, but this is just not a fair thing to do to a loyal customer.    

Problem Solver

• 

434 Messages

4 months ago

@user_4degwn So much for loyalty eh? It's their way of charging you for bringing your own equipment. They're getting their money back now, plus an extra $5!

2 Messages

@DreamSayerZ​ I already have their equipment!  It's their way of charging me for their depreciation loss.  "Customer First?"  I don't think so.  

Problem Solver

• 

434 Messages

@user_4degwn When you say you already have "their equipment," what equipment is it that you have? Make/model? Was this a cable modem you purchased online that's compatible with Xfinity?

Official Employee

• 

915 Messages

4 months ago