Redfordl's profile

Contributor

 • 

198 Messages

Wednesday, January 18th, 2023 4:42 PM

Difference between trash folder and deleted items folder in xfinity connect?

When i delete an email it goes to trash and not the deleted items folder. Why? what is the difference.

Thanks.  

Accepted Solution

BruceW

Gold Problem Solver

 • 

24.4K Messages

14 days ago

When i delete an email it goes to trash and not the deleted items folder. Why? ...

Messages placed in the Trash folder are later moved to Deleted Items to give you a "last chance" to save a message before it is permanently removed. For reference see https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/set-email-deletion-settings. In addition, Email Expert @Latoque and Employee @XfinityGabrielS have posted:

  • Spam is stored for 7 days or 5,000 messages, whichever comes first. Messages removed from Spam bypass the Trash folder and go directly to Deleted Items
  • Trash is stored for 14 days or 5,000 messages, whichever comes first
  • Messages removed from Trash are placed in Deleted Items where they are kept for 30 days or 15,000 messages, whichever comes first. These can be recovered (see https://connect.xfinity.com/appsuite/apps/faq/index.html#recoverEmail) and do not count against the 10GB mailbox limit
  • Messages in the remaining folders are kept indefinitely
  • If the 10GB mailbox limit is exceeded, new messages are not accepted
  • Users cannot change these settings
Please be aware that there are 2 kinds of responses in this Forum: Replies and Comments. When you Comment on a post by scrolling down to "Comment on this post here...", I am notified of your response. But if you select Reply, I am NOT notified and may not be aware of your response.

(edited)

XfinityRaul

Official Employee

 • 

874 Messages

14 days ago

Good morning, @Redfordl. I hope you're having a great day, so far. I appreciate you bringing your email concern to our attention via Forums. When you delete an email, it stays in your trash for 30 days. After that time, it will be permanently deleted.

 

This gives you the opportunity to retrieve the email if you end up needing it. I hope this clears up any confusion you had with your emails. 

forum icon

New to the Community?

Start Here