Community Forum

sb8200 modem

New Poster

sb8200 modem

How do I get the second gig port to get an additional IP so I can hook on to the home network ?. The first port works just fine. Looks like Comcast has to enable that port ?. Please help.

-Ramesh

Expert

Re: sb8200 modem

First, check the "Rate Card" for your local area to see if that feature is even available anymore. Seems that it is being phased out;

https://www.xfinity.com/support/rate-card/

It's a PDF.

Scroll down to "Xfinity Internet" and look for "Additional IP Addresses".

If nothing is listed then it's likely to have been discontinued in your local market area.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

it's not listed in that pdf.

Expert

I'm going to escalate your issue to the Comcast corporate employees that are available to these boards. We've seen cases here where they have been able to get this accomplished for customers even when it is not listed in their rate cards, YMMV. You should get a reply here in your topic. Good luck !

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Official Employee

Hi @Gaurisharma4290

Thanks for posting to the Xfinity Forums. I'd be happy to check to see if having a second IP address is available. Please send me a private message with your first and last name as it appears on your bills. To send a private message click on my name "ComcastChe", then click send a message. 

I am an Official Comcast Employee.