Community Forum

private WAN IP

New Poster

private WAN IP

Hello,

Can Comcast assign private (non public) IP address to my modem?

I have non business, residentual account.

Chatted twice with help desc in vain: they gave me security department number, which seems to be abandoned (waited twice for 40 mins).

Would appreciate any help on this matter.

Thanks!

Expert

Re: private WAN IP

Can you be a bit more clear? You already have a private WAN IP going to your modem, hence you are on the internet. Are you saying you would like an additional IP Address?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Expert

@jweaver0312 wrote:

Can you be a bit more clear? You already have a private WAN IP going to your modem, hence you are on the internet. Are you saying you would like an additional IP Address?

The WAN IP address that the modem bridges to the LAN is public.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Expert

@sadman wrote:

Hello,

Can Comcast assign private (non public) IP address to my modem?

I have non business, residentual account.

Chatted twice with help desc in vain: they gave me security department number, which seems to be abandoned (waited twice for 40 mins).

Would appreciate any help on this matter.

Thanks!

No, sorry. 

New Poster

Nope, the IP I have is public in IANA terms, i.e. it does not belong to any of the following ranges:

Class Starting IP Address Ending IP Address # of Hosts
A 10.0.0.0 10.255.255.255 16,777,216
B 172.16.0.0 172.31.255.255 1,048,576
C 192.168.0.0 192.168.255.255 65,536

I want an IP that would be from one of these classes, presumably from 10.x.x.x.

Expert