Community Forum

can not connect to Dual band 2.4 ghz, 5.0 works fine

New Poster

can not connect to Dual band 2.4 ghz, 5.0 works fine

i can not connect devices to 2.4 ghz on my dual band router and  light is not on or blinking.  2.4 does not show as available on ipad wifi search, only 5.0.   the 5.o works fine.  i have device looking for 2.4 and can not connect it.  suggestions?

Expert

Re: can not connect to Dual band 2.4 ghz, 5.0 works fine

Start here;

https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/benefits-same-wifi-network-password-name-xfi-gateway

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Thanks.  That explains why i do not  see 2.4 band.  But, i have a wifi thermostat that is specificaly looking for 2.4.  i can not seem to connect it.  seems like router is directing me to 5.0.  Do i have to breakout to  two passwords to accomplish this?  maybe i have different problem connecting my wifi thermostat?   appreciate the help and information.  

Expert

Having two different network broadcast names (SSID's) is a must.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster

Thanks.  I will create  the two different passwords to separate the two bands.  THanks.

Expert

SSID's / network names.

New Poster

I have had two different network names  for both 2.4 and 5.0 but had the same password for both bands.   i think your suggesting i need two different passwords to keep them totally separate.  is that correct what i need to do?

Expert