Community Forum

boost hotspot?

Frequent Visitor

boost hotspot?

a place i often go to has a hotspot i can access on the patio, but not indoors. is there a way for me to boost the signal so i can get it indoors?

thanks.

Problem Solver

Re: boost hotspot?

Nope.

Frequent Visitor

so a repeater or booster of the signal can't be done?  i thought there were devices that take in a signal, boost it, and send it back out.  not so? sounds good in theory, but i'm a newbie.

i actually bought a pc wifi adapter and the signal is being picked up indoors.  it's strength seems to vary.  i guess that's the nature of hotspots?  does it depend on how many people are using it?  odd the speed is said to be 100Mbps, yet i get between 1-3 Mbps.  why would the speed be listed that high when it's not the case?  i also get 2 out of 5 bars.  not sure how relates to speed.  any insights?

thanks.

Silver Problem Solver

What do you mean by hotspot?  I use my gateway's wifi, not its hotspot.  

There are ways to increase the range of a gateway's wifi but a gateway's hotspot can't be boosted.

http://customer.xfinity.com/help-and-support/internet/about-xfinity-wifi-internet/

Try googleing powerline wifi.

I am not a Comcast employee; I am just a customer, volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
Frequent Visitor

at home i use the comcast router to get my wifi, no sweat.   at my other location, i don't have a comcast router. but there is a hotspot nearby (about 150 yards away, unless in an office in my building someone has a comcast router), and that signal fluctuates.  according to windows 10, i always get 2 of 5 bars on signal quality, i guess considered a fair signal (also according to my tablet).

sometimes i do get 8Mbps, which is plenty.  other times, almost 0.

would a large antenna help, maybe boosting signal quality?  or is this an issue of the hotspot, maybe when busy, just puts out less bandwidth to my desk?

thanks.

Silver Problem Solver