Community Forum

activation page keeps popping up

New Poster

activation page keeps popping up

Hi,

I installed a new xfinity modem/wireless router. Whenever I try to access bookmarked and favorited URLs, the activation page pops up. I have tried simply signing in, but it still pops up. I tried shutting everything down, unplugging, and then powering up modem first and then laptop, but no luck. Still pops up. Very annoying. What to do? I've done some board research and can't find a solution that (a) I can follow and (b) doesn't say "call comcast". I've tried that and 3 different techs couldn't help me...

Expert

Re: activation page keeps popping up

First try clearing your browser's cache / history / cookies.

If still no joy, call 1-800-comcast and ask a rep to *roll and re-provision* the modem. Also ask them to confirm that the provisioning and account data in their database is correct and complete. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

cant get rid Activation page

cant get rid Activation page

Expert

Re: cant get rid Activation page

ATTENTION 

http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Basic-Internet-Connectivity-And/activation-page-keeps-popping-up/m-p/27...

Same drill.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Official Employee

The modem has the correct bootfile, so it appears that this page is either cached in the browser or within the router itself. If after you've cleared your cache cookies and history (and restarted your browser) you continue to get the activation page, a power cycle of the gateway for 30 seconds should do the trick.