Community Forum

Xfinity new router supposed to be better ?

Frequent Visitor

Xfinity new router supposed to be better ?

The new router has no battery back up option available ?

I was told the new router does not come with battery back up option.

We also have the voice service form Xfinity, so this means we'll have no phone service when the power is out.  Why would this back up feature be neglected when replacing the old unit ?

The corporate buyers need to know what's needed as an option for their clients instead of shopping blindly just for the price point.

We might cancel the voice service and look somewhere else.

Highlighted
Expert

Re: Xfinity new router supposed to be better ?

Consider using a UPS (Uninterruptable Power Supply). They are better anyway !

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Gold Problem Solver

@wkuo3 wrote: The new router has no battery back up option available ? ...

What is the device model number? The feature list toward the bottom of https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/broadband-gateways-userguides states that all the rental Internet/Wifi router/Voice gateways listed provide for battery backup. But EG's point is well taken: a small UPS is probably a better choice.

Frequent Visitor

XFSETUP-7242

Gold Problem Solver

@wkuo3 wrote: XFSETUP-7242

That looks like a Wifi ID, not a model number. The model number might be one of these:

• CGM4140COM
  • DPC3939
  • DPC3941T
  • TC8305C
  • TC8717C
  • TG852G
  • TG862G
  • TG1682G
  • TG3482G
  • X5001
Frequent Visitor

XB6T
Gold Problem Solver

@wkuo3 wrote: XB6T

Still not a model number. Please see https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/getting-a-new-battery.

From that article: