Community Forum

Xfinity XB3 Router is a POS

New Poster

Xfinity XB3 Router is a POS

I have been using the new XB3 modem/router for the last 6 months or so, and there is something inherently wrong with its networking abilities.  I am a Network Administrator professionally, so I am not speaking out of ignorance here.  There are several issues I have repeatedly seen/documented since I have been using it.

1.  If you have additional WAPs (wireless access points) in your house, the router gets confused when you switch between the XB3 WiFi and other WAPs, and vice versa.  It's like the internal XB3 switch is unable to update the internal dynamic ARP tables when you move between WiFi and Ethernet connections (as the other WAPs are connected via ethernet).  You have to reboot everything (XB3 and WAPs) to get everything to sync back up and work. This happens routinely, like every week or two.

2.  The XB3's internal switch/WiFi again seems to have a hard time with networking print jobs to at least WiFi connected printers.  If I haven't rebooted the XB3 in a week or two, and then try to print to a WiFi connected printer, it takes several minutes for a very small print job to actually be spooled to the printer.  If I then reboot the XB3, the same print job will be spooled and printed within 10-15 seconds.   I have confirmed this same issue on another XB3 modem at a friend's house, so I know it doesn't have anything specifically to do with me or my printer.  The common thread is the XB3 modem.  I have also tried a different (new) printer on my network and the same thing happens.