Community Forum

Upload speeds halved for the last week.

Contributor

Upload speeds halved for the last week.

I have 150/10. (Blast), on a SB6183 modem.

Last Sunday my upload was halved (5-6ish), then it came back the next day, was fine for 2 days then went back to being halved, modem signals are fine, nothing in logs, download speeds are fine, no packet loss. Modem signal levels attached. I feel it might be an overcap or failign node or some such.

Tried the usual, rebooted network stuff, check connections, etc. Even hopped on a neighbors xfin wifi and it is borked too.

Can someone look into this please?

Thanks.

comcastCapture.JPG
Expert

Re: Upload speeds halved for the last week.

The stats are fine. Perhaps it an intermittent local capacity / congestion problem ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Maybe, but it's not intermittent anymore, it's been like this 24/7 for nearly a week, iperf3 tests on a remote cron show it.

Expert

Perhaps there is noise ingress into the line(s) / return path somewhere.

There are other signal stat figures that can't be read by the modem. They are the "Upstream Rx Power" (Upstream Receive Power Level), the "Upstream SNR Ch." (Upstream Signal To Noise Ratio), and the "Upstream ICFR" (In Channel Frequency Response). These are as equally important in diagnosing connectivity issues as are the modem's stats.

I'm going to escalate your issue to the Comcast corporate employees that are available to these boards. They will be able to poll the CMTS to see whether or not everything is in the green zone, see your node / cable plant and modem health, and also see a history plot for the modem. You should get a reply here in your topic. Good luck !

I am not a Comcast Employee.