Community Forum

Upgraded Modem

Regular Contributor

Upgraded Modem

After renting a modem for about 4 years, I got an email message that I could upgrade the modem. Today, I swapped my "old" modem for a new one at the local Xfinity office.

It was easy to setup and register. I also have voice, and everything is working fine. The speed is very high.

I'm a technical novice and really don't understand why there are two wifi speeds on this modem: 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. When setting up names, I chose an option that seemed to eliminate named access to each speed. My named connection is 5 GHz, and the 2.4 GHz connection doesn't show up anymore. I'd like to understand why there are two speeds.

My other question is related to the display lights on the modem. Both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz lights blink about once per second. The manual I found online says that such blinking indicates denial of network access. I don't know what that means.

Feedback would be appreciated.

Expert

Re: Upgraded Modem

They aren't "speeds". They are frequency *bands*;

https://www.google.com/search?q=2.4+vs+5.0&rlz=1C1SQJL_enUS782US782&oq=2.4+vs+5.0&aqs=chrome..69i57j...

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

@EG wrote:

They aren't "speeds". They are frequency *bands*;

https://www.google.com/search?q=2.4+vs+5.0&rlz=1C1SQJL_enUS782US782&oq=2.4+vs+5.0&aqs=chrome..69i57j...

Thank you. Like I said, I'm a technical novice.

Expert

No worries ! We all started like that !☺

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Contributor