Community Forum

UDP Traffic

New Poster

UDP Traffic

It is unfortunate that Comcast will not admit that they are restricting UDP traffic, which inhibits streaming services. While I appreciate that the error correction done by TCP, and ignored by UDP seems more desireable.... I do not appreciate having my options limited without my permission.

Not only did Comcast restrict UDP, I can tell you when they did it.... probably a year ago for no reason that I am aware of Comcast sent me a new modem. Since installing the new modem I have not seen any udp traffic. And I am 100% certain before that the majority of my network traffic was udp.

I am not an engineer, but I do monitor my network traffic.

Before this revelation I applauded Comcast's business model. Now I feel that you are just as shady as Verizon. Unfortunately, my building is either one or the other. So I have to decide whether this is worth relocating. 

No reply necessary.... you do block udp traffic.

Silver Problem Solver

Re: UDP Traffic

@wmdjackson wrote:

It is unfortunate that Comcast will not admit that they are restricting UDP traffic, which inhibits streaming services. While I appreciate that the error correction done by TCP, and ignored by UDP seems more desireable.... I do not appreciate having my options limited without my permission.

Not only did Comcast restrict UDP, I can tell you when they did it.... probably a year ago for no reason that I am aware of Comcast sent me a new modem. Since installing the new modem I have not seen any udp traffic. And I am 100% certain before that the majority of my network traffic was udp.

I am not an engineer, but I do monitor my network traffic.

Before this revelation I applauded Comcast's business model. Now I feel that you are just as shady as Verizon. Unfortunately, my building is either one or the other. So I have to decide whether this is worth relocating. 

No reply necessary.... you do block udp traffic.

Can you give us an example?