Community Forum

Terabyte Internet Data Usage

Highlighted
Expert

Re: Data cap junk...

It doesn't matter if a router's logging function happens to be mislabeling events. It's still traffic nonetheless.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Contributor

Yes... DDOSes that are not Comcast's problem, but yours to pay for!  This is evil genius level brilliant!  Yet another reason why we should love them.  If you can be charged for things beyond your control, that is, well, simply awesome!  (for them).

Look, you all have a few choices:

1.  Go with another provider that doesn't enact such archaic restrictions (or maybe even one that does, but actually cares about the circumstances - like finding bigfoot, I suppose)?  

2.  Kill the breaker to your house, and keep paying Comcast.  THIS FIXES EVERYTHING.  It's win/win.  Comcast gets to keep collecting their mad stacks for nothing, and you don't pay overage charges, right?

I'm hearing people disconnecting everything in their house to avoid overages?  Really?  This is what it's come to?  ... Then you get the snarky comment:  "I don't see why you don't just pay an extra $50 when you're already paying $200+ for their content?"

And 1TB limit for a gigabit connection is HILARIOUS, Comcast.  No, really...  

"You can use this connection for two whole hours at the speed promised, and we'll bill you monthly, or charge you for 'overages'."