Community Forum

SB8200 Modem.

Frequent Visitor

SB8200 Modem.

I just upgraded from an SB6190 to an SB8200, but with the SB8200 there is no access to the modem's status etc. webpages, the connections just timeout (tested on mulltiple browsers in multiple operating systems).  It does not seem like my system is blocking traffic as I can access the Spectrum Analyser on the same address (192.168.100.1) at port 8080 with no problem.  Is this a common problem with an easy way to fix it ?  I have rebooted both the modem and the router to no effect.

Thanks

Expert

Re: SB8200 Modem.

Have you tried hard resetting the device to factory defaults by pressing and holding in the recessed reset button on the rear for 30 seconds ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

It is exactly the same after the complete reset (and long restart wait !).  The browsers

respond with :-

"The operation timed out when attempting to contact 192.168.100.1"

It still connects at port 8080 with no problem.

If I try to access it though a non-standard port, say 81, then the response is :-

"The connection was refused when attempting to contact 192.168.100.1:81"

For standard http(s) ports 80 and 443 I get the timeout.  The firmware appears to

be screwy !

Expert

wrote:
For standard http(s) ports 80 and 443 I get the timeout.

Are you saying that you are trying to use a secure HTTPS connection ? If so, use HTTP.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

The primary connection, that worked perfectly with the SB6190, is http.  When that didn't work