Community Forum

Port forwarding not working.

Frequent Visitor

Port forwarding not working.

I've tried to open up a port through the Wireless Gateway Admin Tool. The port says it is forwarded, but outside connections are not able to use it. I've also checked canyouseeme.org to check if the port is open, but it says "connection timed out". I read a post from a few months back that says port forwarding is broken. Is this still the case?

Expert

Re: Port forwarding not working.

Is that port on the list of restricted or blocked ports

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

No it is not. I am attemting to open port 25565.

Expert

Do you have the Xfi app. ? Are you following the exact instructions here ?;

https://www.xfinity.com/search/?cat=ccentral&q=port%20forwarding

https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Internet/ANSWERED-How-to-set-up-Port-Forwarding-on-your-Comcast/ta-p/3...

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

I do not have the xFi app. Shouldn't port forwarding work the way I did it? Why do I have to download additional junk in order to make something that should work work?

Frequent Visitor

So as far as I can tell this feature is broken through the xFi gateway as well. It just doesnt work. Opened a port, went to canyouseeme.org to check that port, and it says connection refused. The port is not open.

EDIT