Community Forum

Not getting 400mbps speed

Regular Contributor

Not getting 400mbps speed

I just upgraded my plan to include 400mbps internet but still get 150 speed that I had. I had to buy a new modem to get the 400 speed (the SB8200 modem) which is more than enough. I had Xfinity activate the new modem and have talked to them to see what they can do about my speeds being so low but nothing works so far. Not sure what I can do to get the speeds i'm paying for. I use a wireless router and it is also more than enough to reach the 400mbps speed.

Expert

Re: Not getting 400mbps speed

For a test, what does a computer hardwired directly to the 8200 (no router in the mix) with an ethernet cable get ? You will need to power cycle the 8200 when you do so.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

Ok I tried the speed with Ethernet and still got around 170 and not the 400 it should be.
Expert

Just to confirm. That was directly to the modem (no router) ?

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Contributor

Correct it was connected to the modem not router. The speed went up some, it hit 274mbps still not 400. Wonder if my router just isn’t good enough. The 5ghz speed is suppose to go up to 867 mbps but only 300 on 2.4GHz.
Regular Contributor

Does the Ethernet cord cat number matter with speed? Think my cable said cat5.
Expert

Cat 5e and cat 6 are better than cat5.