Community Forum

Netgear Router

Contributor

Netgear Router

I have a Tg862 and the wifi is down more than up. Turned it off and installed a Netgear Router. All now works but. My pc is hardwired to the modem and gets a 10.x.x.x ip and the devices connected to the router have a 192.168.x.x ip. Every thing works except my wireless printer now has a 192 ip and I have a 10 ip. Any ideas on how to see this printer? I could change my pc to wifi and get a 192 ip but was wondering if there is a work around.

Expert

Re: Netgear Router

You can't just turn off the WiFi on the 862. You need to put it in to full bridge mode so that it acts only as a plain cable modem;

https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/wireless-gateway-enable-disable-bridge-mode

Then connect all of your clients to only the stand-alone router.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Silver Problem Solver

If the printer still doesn't connect, after bridging, may help to run the set up program if you still have it, (can usually download from the manufacturers website).

Contributor

Ok here is what I did to resole the problem

1) turn wifi off on modem/gateway

2) leave bridge setting to disable to have DHCP in 10.x.x.x. range and no public addresses

3) put a cable between your modem and router

4) Put your router in AP mode and set to get ip from router

5) all connections now have 10.x.x.x ip

Thanks

Mike

Expert

With this config, what do you need the Netgear router for ? Perhaps for better WiFi performance ?

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Contributor