Either brand new CM500 has fault or there was an activation fault
No obvious answers at http://support.netgear.com/product/CM500

Netgear:
Hardware Version C312T00-01
Firmware Version V1.01.11

Suggestions?

Expert

Re: Netgear CM500 modem unable to reach Internet after Activation

I'm going to escalate this to the Comcast corporate employees that are available to these boards. They will be able to check if the modem is provisioned correctly. You should get a reply here in your topic. Good luck !

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Thank you very much!

Official Employee

Hi, secdroid! Thanks for posting. Did you check your router? 

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

Away from home and unable to check modem at this time.

Will check ASAP and post results -- when I have access to net... :-)

Expert

Are you even using a stand-alone router with your CM500 modem ?

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Official Employee

@secdroid - Please let me know, thank you!

Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

Long story short: I asked Comcast to restore the Technicolor gateway to the account. I simply can't afford to be without Internet right now.  (Using my personal coax now to rule that out as a contributing factor.)