Community Forum

Neighbor has her own server & everything in her house is WI-FI Slowing My WI-FI Connection

Contributor

Neighbor has her own server & everything in her house is WI-FI Slowing My WI-FI Connection

My neighbor who is connected to cable ahead of me on the daisy chain does really heavy internet use, her own servers (2) and everything is wireless in her house. There are five people living there and all are heavy wi-fi users. My question is, we share the same cable terminal outside, can comcast switch my service ahead of hers in the chain.

I notice every time they go away my internet connection is perfect. When they get home my wi-fi speed drops and ping goes up. Very hard to stream when they are home.

Expert

Re: Neighbor has her own server & everything in her house is WI-FI Slowing My WI-FI Connection

Does a hardwired, Ethernet connection show the same issue?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Expert

Re: Neighbor has her own server & everything in her house is WI-FI Slowing My WI-FI Connection

@gary777 wrote:

My question is, we share the same cable terminal outside, can comcast switch my service ahead of hers in the chain.

It wouldn't make any difference. It's all shared bandwidth from the node / cable segment. First, second, last, doesnt matter.

I notice every time they go away my internet connection is perfect. When they get home my wi-fi speed drops and ping goes up. Very hard to stream when they are home.

For a test, does a computer hardwired directly to the router / gateway device with an ethernet cable have the same problem ? This may be a WiFi only interference problem from them and not a general slowdown with the Comcast cable system.