Community Forum

MoCA Won't Remain Enabled

New Poster

MoCA Won't Remain Enabled

I recently ran additional coax in our home and now the MoCA on our router won't stay on. Every time I switch it from disabled to enabled, the router says it's updating, then refreshes to show it still marked enabled.

What's even more confusing, my MoCA devices can connect, although sporadically will lose connection.

Anyone have any idea what could cause this?

Originally we had two runs in our house - master bedroom and living room. I branched off the living room to four other rooms. I introduced four splitters along the way to make it work. Don't know if that would be the reason this is happening?
Expert

Re: MoCA Won't Remain Enabled

First. Make sure that the splitters are MoCA compliant (5-1675Mhz).

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

The splitter used to split the incoming signal says it's a "MoCA splitter", but the frequency range stops somewhere in the 1500Mhz range. I'd have to check to get the exact number. The rest I bought that support 0-2.4Ghz specifically so it would support MoCA.
Expert

0-2.4Ghz splitter is engineered more for satellite systems. It can cause other problems by allowing high frequency noise ingress. You don't want to go that high. This is a good MoCA splitter;

http://www.amazon.com/Holland-Electronics-GHS-2Pro-M-Splitter-5-1675Mhz/dp/B00P6VHLP0?tag=ds0233-20 

Bear in mind that the splitters may not be the root cause of the issue. Just sayin'. Good luck with it

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster