Community Forum

Internet drops daily(restarts)

Regular Visitor

Internet drops daily(restarts)

So I keep having an issue where the cable modem keeps restarting.  Or I lose signal from comcast? It has happened twice in the last 3 hrs already today.  It's getting super annoying.  I stream all my tv  minus the local channels I buy from comcast.

There is a new cable from the pole to the house and all the other cable and connections inside the house are tight. I have a NETGEAR CM400 cable modem that I purchased from best buy so I didn't have to rent a modem.  I then have a netgear nighthawk router.  Can anyone recommend anything?  

Expert

Re: Internet drops daily(restarts)

What do the modem's signal stats look like ? Try getting them here; http://192.168.100.1

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor

Hope this helps....Thanks for the reply. Sorry it took so long to get back.  It's just highly frustrating when watching a movie etc.  I just think comcast is out to get me because I don't use to many of their services. HAHA

imageedit_5_5880828272.jpg

Expert

Can't see your pic. Since you are a new poster, it likely needs to be approved by a Forum Admin.

You could try hosting it at one of those free third-party pic hosting sites and post the link to it here.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Visitor

SNR rages from 37.9 to 38.6 dB

Downstream there are 8 channels - they range from -2.2 to 3.5dBmV