Community Forum

Internet connection problems

Frequent Visitor

Internet connection problems

Hello everyone I need some help, when I’m playing on my gaming system (Xbox one) every 5-10 minutes my connection drops for a few seconds then my game continues. If I’m on my phone and search something during this it doesn’t load. It lasts fo 10-20 seconds then goes back to normal. The router says it has internet connection to it during these times. I just got a brand new line coming to my house and a new router a couple months ago. Need help! Thank you!
Expert

Re: Internet connection problems

Start here;

https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Your-Home-Network/Connection-Troubleshooting-Tips/m-p/1253575#M94474

https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Your-Home-Network/Information-Requested-for-Connection-Related-Posts/m...

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Internet problems

Hello everyone I need some help, when I’m playing on my gaming system (Xbox one) every 5-10 minutes my connection drops for a few seconds then my game continues. If I’m on my phone and search something during this it doesn’t load. It lasts fo 10-20 seconds then goes back to normal. The router says it has internet connection to it during these times. I just got a brand new line coming to my house and a new router a couple months ago. Need help! Thank you!

The lights on my router stay normal. Here are my signal levels.

I had a tech come out and he said that it’s my router I don’t want to buy a new router/modem combo when
I have a brand new router
Netgear nighthawk
Ac1900 thank you
CFE5A53D-ACFB-4541-89AC-63108E5D56E6.png
Frequent Visitor

I reposted following his instructions. Thank you
Expert